Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Transformational Change: Theory and Practice

Upon completion of this course you will be able to:

  • Describe the dynamics of change with people within the culture of a correctional system, organization and agency;
  • Explain the eight stages for successfully leading change according to John P. Kotter’s work on “Leading Change: Why Transformation Efforts Fail,” and provide examples from your personal experience that reinforce or challenge each of these stages;
  • Explain the seven “Fundamental Assumptions” underlying the Concern-Based Adoption Model to change;
  • Describe the Stages of Concern in CBAM and create strategies to assist a persons progression through the stages when involved in a change effort;
  • Explain the Diagnostic Tools of the Concerns-Based Adoption Model including the purpose and applications of each;
  • Using various case study examples, apply the CBAM tools and construct an intervention taxonomy to address and manage a particular change effort;
  • and Describe each element in Marvin Weisbord’s Six Box Model for managing organizational culture, and discuss the interrelationship between each.

(NIC ID: 21ECAC2811)

3 hours