U.S. Department of Justice


Publication year: 1994

Library ID

  • 012782

Other Information

  • 1994
  • 148 pages.
Thumbnail preview The focus of the Cognitive Interventions Program is to change the criminal behavior of offenders by motivating them to change themselves. Cognitive change is self-change. This program is divided into four phases.

Phase I - Orientation: This phase is designed to teach the basic concepts and techniques of cognitive change.

Phase II - The Change Process: In this phase offenders use techniques of cognitive self-observation (Thinking Reports, Journals, Problem and Hassle Logs) to identify their key patterns of thinking that support antisocial behavior, and then put together a plan for self-change.

Phase III consists of a series of modules that focus on the behaviors targeted for change in Phase II, such as victim empathy, anger management, drug abuse, and health issues.

Phase IV is a follow-up or support group phase ideally offered in a community setting.

Phase III and IV are not included in this one-volume manual. The amount of time spent in the first three phases is determined by the participant's completion of defined tasks within a specified period. The content of material presented in these phases is contained in a series of 15 scripted lessons for each phase, which include dialog, trainer's notes, handouts, homework assignments, and other training aids.