Back to top

Understanding Veteran-Specific Resources Available to Both Veterans and Criminal Justice Agencies

veterans helping each other

Date and Time: November 9, 2021 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET for 90 minutes

Webinar Summary:
Do you want to develop a better understanding of the veteran-specific resources available to both criminal justice agencies and to veterans? Would you like to improve your knowledge of the support available to criminal justice agencies to help build  veterans’ programming? Veterans transitioning from the military to the civilian world Veterans Helping Veterans may have unique underlying conditions, such as post-traumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury, and other veteran-specific mental health concerns.  If veterans with these conditions get involved with the criminal justice system, it can result in complex and challenging situations. Fortunately, there are veteran-specific resources available for use throughout the justice system continuum.  Agencies that recognize the distinctive qualities associated with military service and the abundant resources available to those who have served can significantly foster future success for these veterans as they navigate the criminal justice system and return to being productive members of society. Veteran-specific resources are being used by the field and are helping agencies with their programmatic efforts to help reduce recidivism for justice-involved veterans, improve public safety, and improve outcomes for veterans.

Learning Objectives:

During this 90-minute interactive webinar, participants will:

  •     Develop an understanding of the resources available to veterans and criminal justice agencies;
  •     Learn about outreach, assessments, referrals, and links to services and how to partner with federal agencies to build programs for veterans.
  •     Get tips on how to request technical assistance and access resources from the National Institute of Corrections.

Speakers

Ron Self, Veteran, Executive Director, Veterans Healing Veterans from the Inside Out

Sean Clark, Director, Veterans Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Stacey Owens, Acting Military and Veterans Affairs Liaison, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Scott Tirocchi, Director, Justice For Vets

Dr. Nick Polizzi, Program Manager, inTransition, Department of Defense

Gregory Crawford, Veterans Compendium Project Manager/Correctional Program Specialist, National Institute of Corrections

Who Should Attend?

Any employee of a federal, state, or local correctional jurisdiction who is routinely involved in direct interaction with justice-involved veterans as part of their title or function.

 

 

 

 

Details
Event Date: 
Tuesday 9th November at 1:00pm - Tuesday 9th November at 2:30pm