Back to top


Juvenile Facility Standards: United States Department of Justice Final Rule: National Standards to Prevent, Detect, and Respond to Prison Rape Under the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA)

This Standard is divided into these sections: Prevention Planning, Responsive Planning, Training and Education, Screening for Risk of Sexual Victimization and Abusiveness, Reporting, Official Response Following a Resident Report, Investigations, Discipline, Medical and Mental Care, Data Collectio

Juvenile Standards Documentation Requirements

This document is meant to assist agencies and facilities in their PREA compliance efforts.

United Nations Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners (the Mandela Rules)

These rules seek to set out what is generally accepted as being good principles and practice in the treatment of prisoners and prison management.

Criminal Justice Restraints Standard NIJ Standard 1001.00

This standard specifies the minimum requirements for restraints intended to be used by criminal justice personnel to restrain subjects.

Juvenile Detention Facility Assessment: 2014 Update

This revised version of the JDAI standards to acknowledge and incorporate regulations that affect the full range of facility operations.

Best Practices in the Use of Restraints with Pregnant Women Under Correctional Custody

These standards articulate a set of principles to guide agencies and jurisdictions in the development of local policy and practice.

Accreditation Standards for Pretrial Agencies Standards Manual Version 1.0.10

This is a great example of standards governing the accreditation of pretrial agencies.

LGBTQ Youth and Status Offenses: Improving System Responses and Reducing Disproportionality

This brief stresses the use of the “National Standards for the Care of Youth Charged with Status Offenses” with all LGBTQ youth.

6 CFR Part 115: Standards To Prevent, Detect, and Respond to Sexual Abuse and Assault in Confinement Facilities; Final Rule

The purpose of this regulatory action is to set standards to prevent, detect, and respond to sexual abuse in Department of Homeland Security (DHS) confinement facilities.

National Standards for the Care of Youth Charged with Status Offenses

These Standards promote research-based best practices to better engage and support youth and families in need of assistance.


Subscribe to Standards