Back to top

Community resources

Do you want to develop a better understanding of the veteran-specific resources available to both criminal justice agencies and to veterans? Would you like to improve your knowledge of the support available to criminal justice agencies to help build veterans’ programming? Veterans transitioning from the military to the civilian world may have unique underlying conditions, such as post-traumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury, and other veteran-specific mental health concerns.  If veterans with these conditions get involved with the criminal justice system, it can result in complex and challenging situations. Fortunately, there are veteran-specific resources available for use throughout the justice system continuum.  Agencies that recognize the distinctive qualities associated with military service and the abundant resources available to those who have served can significantly foster future success for these veterans as they navigate the criminal justice system and return to being productive members of society. Veteran-specific resources are being used by the field and are helping agencies with their programmatic efforts to help reduce recidivism for justice-involved veterans, improve public safety, and improve outcomes for veterans. 

Learning Objectives:

During this 90-minute interactive webinar, participants will:

Develop an understanding of resources available to veterans and criminal justice agencies;

Learn about outreach, assessment, referral, and links to services and how to partner with federal agencies to build programs for veterans.

Get tips on how to request technical assistance and access resources from the National Institute of Corrections.

Orginally broadcast: November 9, 2021 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET for 90 minutes.

Understanding Veteran-Specific Resources Available to Both Veterans and Criminal Justice Agencies [Webinar]
Subscribe to Community resources